top of page

Name brand or Generic

Updated: Mar 10, 2018

I think we can all agree that there are just some things you can and cannot buy when it comes to food, drinks, beauty products and household items. Growing up in a house where my grandmother and my mother would by things according to what they could afford, was enlightening. I can remember my grandmother purchasing Kraft cheese slices so that we could make grilled cheese sandwiches and my mother would purchase the Kroger brand or which ever was more appealing to her pockets. If you have ever tried to make a grilled cheese sandwich than you know where I am coming from when I say the wrong cheese will NOT melt for shit!


I think that it is a decent conversation to have about what works and what doesn't work when you are doing your own shopping. I have found that some things taste better when they are the down played version of certain foods or drinks. I personally do not like off brand graham crackers they taste stale and have very little flavor. However, when you purchase Nabisco graham crackers they are obviously better tasting, but I'm sure they are loaded with tons of sugars and what not but who cares you like what you like. I also noticed that when you by off brands of soda sometimes they taste just as good if not better but they have to be handled with care. So let me tell you what I mean, you can drink a room temperature coke and still get a refreshing taste, but if you buy Big-K you have to put it on ice to get the full effect otherwise you get a pretty bland drink.


I highly suggest that which ever you choose you do your homework on the product. Hard and soft line goods will always come and go and quite frankly only the strong survive. You ever wonder why some products disappear as soon as they are released, it's simply because it is all about supply and demand, trial and error. Some of these name brand companies spend so much money on marketing and advertising for new and upcoming products that they forget who the target market is when they put some of this stuff out. On the other hand some customers are just looking for the cheap route to save a pretty penny and not too concerned with quality but more so quantity.


Needless to say, I am not a professional MUA but I do have specific eyeliners that work better than others. I generally use the retractable pens from Jordana. These pens are smooth, you never have to sharpen them and they work on lips eyes and brows. I have learned how to pick the perfect colors that work to my liking and go from there. Unfortunately I have used some pencils that are harsh on my skin and never really work because the led is tough and then you have to burn it just to soften it up, I don't have time for that. I do think that in closing people are sleeping on the WET N WILD products because hey have very affordable colors of lip care that are hard to come by when you want a variety. I do a lot of my shopping at Walgreens so I catch a lot of things on sale while earning my points.


Each time you try a new product or food it may not be exactly what you imagined. If it is worth it to you keep at it until you figure it out. If you want to learn how to DIY practice makes perfect "sometimes"! I enjoy trying new products and goodies I get a thrill out of it. I guess now the question is what works for you and what doesn't? feel free to share your finds and hacks I will do the same. Take care, this has been another diva production don't trip!




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


IT’S YOUR STORY
#newblogger #newchapter #lifestyleblogger #newbeginnings
#inspirationalquotes #loveyourself #inspireothers
#Maturity #Learning #Awakening #Life #Self #Worth#NewBeginnings #Leave #In #The #Past#Future #IsNow
#Goals #Life #Lessons #Love #Woman #Mom #Brilliant #NewBlogger #Amazing #Wonderful #GoodVibes #Goals
#breathe #the #universe #will do the #rest #love #life #laugh #embrace #spiritual #awakening
Untitled
#noregrets #successquotes #livelife
Untitled
Untitled
#lovemylife #newblogger #journey #embracingtheseasons
#awakening #spiritualawakening
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
#goals #lifequotes #bloggerlife #beginners
#awakening #lovemylife #lifestyleblogger #newbeginnings
#funny #life #pickmeup
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
Untitled
#1111 #awakening #bloggerslife #embraceyou #lovemylife #journey #spiritualgrowth
#awakening #enlightenment

Inspiring

 

Others

 

To Be

 

Great!!

bottom of page